By Patrick Connelly  |  Buffalo Law Journal, Buffalo Business First  |  Jun 11, 2019, 6:52am EDT

Erie County Bar Association 2019-20 Board of Directors Set

The elections for the 2019-20 officers and board of directors of the Erie County Bar Association are in the books, with Oliver Young set to be president for the 2020-21 year.

Young, who retired in 2018 after 38 years in public service as court attorney in the Eighth Judicial District of state Supreme Court, was elected as vice president. In the election, Young topped candidate Michael Perley, senior member and treasurer at Hurwitz & Fine P.C.

The bar association’s calendar year runs from June to June, with the vice president annually succeeding the incumbent president.

Bridget O’Connell, elected in 2018 as vice president, was sworn in as president June 7 at the ECBA’s annual meeting.O’Connell is principal law clerk to State Supreme Court Justice John O’Donnell. She succeeds Marianne Mariano as president.

“I greatly admire the talented Western New York legal community and members of the (association) who have shown a remarkable commitment to integrity and courtesy,” O’Connell said in a release. “I appreciate the opportunity to lead this organization and serve our community in these interesting times.”

O’Connell is the ECBA’s 113th president.

Also sworn was Craig Bucki, partner, Phillips Lytle LLP, as treasurer after a year as deputy treasurer.

Others elected included:

  • Deputy treasurer – Timothy Graber, partner at Gibson McAskill & Crosby LLP
  • Directors – Samuel Alba, junior partner at Friedman & Ranzenhofer PC; Robert Brucato, senior appellate counsel, Counsel Press Inc.; Colleen Curtin Gable, Erie County assistant district attorney; Krista Gottlieb, solo mediator and arbitrator; Karen Richardson, law clerk to the U.S. District Court Magistrate Judge H. Kenneth Schroeder Jr.